Murray County is governed by the Board of Commissioners. These elected officials represent the five districts of the county and serve staggered terms of office.

The government of Murray County was formally organized in 1872. The two government buildings, located at the south end of Broadway Avenue are the center point of county government activity. The traditional County Government Offices are located in the Government Center building, and Court Administration and Law Enforcement occupy most of the Courts building.

The Board meets at the Murray County Government Center in the Commissioners Meeting Room – 2500 28th Street – Slayton, MN 56172.

2017-commissioners

Commissioners in photo from left to right, Dave Thiner, Glenn Kluis, James Jens, Gerald Magnus and Lori Gunnink


James Jens – District 1

Term:  1/8/13 – 1/1/21
Next Election Date:  November 2020
Phone:  507-829-6485
Email:   jjens@co.murray.mn.us

  • City of Currie
  • City of Dovray
  • Belfast Township
  • Shetek Township
  • Holly Township
  • Dovray Township
  • Des Moines River Township
  • Mason Township
  • Murray Township

Lori Gunnink – Commissioner District 2

Term:  1/1/17 – 1/1/21
Next Election Date:  November 2020
Phone:  507-227-3744
Email:   lgunnink@co.murray.mn.us

  • City of Lake Wilson
  • City of Hadley
  • Skandia Township
  • Lowville Township
  • Leeds Township
  • Ellsborough Township
  • Cameron Township
  • Chanarambie Township
  • Lake Sarah Township

Gerald Magnus – Commissioner District 3

Term:  1/1/07 – 1/1/19
Next Election Date:  November 2018
Phone:  507-760-0507
Email:   gmagnus@co.murray.mn.us

  • City of Chandler
  • City of Iona
  • City of Avoca
  • Lime Lake Township
  • Slayton Township
  • Iona Township
  • Moulton Township
  • Fenton Township

Glenn “Corky” Kluis – Commissioner District 4

2016 Vice Chair
Term:  12/2/14 – 1/1/19
Next Election Date:  November 2018
Phone:   507-360-7902
Email: gkluis@co.murray.mn.us

  • City of Slayton

Dave Thiner – District 5

2016 Chair
Term:  1/8/13 – 1/1/21
Next Election Date:  November 2020
Phone:   507-360-1199
Email:   dthiner@co.murray.mn.us

  • City of Fulda
  • Bondin Township

Aurora Heard – County Coordinator

Phone:   507-836-1148
Email:   aheard@co.murray.mn.us


Travis Smith – County Attorney

Phone:   507-836-6541
Email:   tsmith@co.murray.mn.us

For a list of all Murray County Commissioners from 1872 until present click HERE.

For a map of the Murray County Commissioner Districts click HERE.